Logic and Emotion are Not Opposites

Despite what the MBTI claims, logical and emotional are not opposites. 

You mean to tell me that,

  • because I cried when I watched Brokeback Mountain and Never Let Me Go;
  • because I empathise with a character in a book;
  • because I’m moved by the majesty of nature;
  • because I relate to people, because I listen, because I think other perspectives are valid;
  • because I like art,

that I can’t follow a deductive argument? That I can’t understand modus ponens or learn to program a computer? Or conversely, that because a kid scored 100% on the math test, that s/he has no feelings?

That doesn’t make sense.

Just like the artist-versus-businessman-versus-engineer divide, logical-versus-emotional is an artificial, invalid, made-up limitation on people.

About isomorphismes

Argonaut: someone engaged in a dangerous but potentially rewarding adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

